News on Protests, Dharna, Rally, Hungerstrike and Sit-in protest: 20 February, 2015

United against Modi sarkar? RSS joins opposition in battle against the land act:

Disciplinary action against striking EMRI employees:

Bank unions’ leaders meet Jaitley ahead of IBA-UFBU conciliation:

Burn Standard row: Mamata Banerjee junks assault charge:

Land Acquisition Bill: Anna Hazare to flag off protest march from Haryana today:

Physically disabled volunteers protest by painting 200-feet wall:

Women vendors protest against bomb blast in Imphal:

Railway employees join hands against foreign investment:

Mr PM, do you care about research as much as industry?: Siva Ranjan Upala: On Monday, Siva Ranjan Upala, a 29-year-old research scholar from the Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER), Mohali, led 1.5 lakh other research scholars from IIT Delhi, AIIMS, DRDO, Delhi University, JNU, Jamia Hamdard University on a hunger strike at Jantar Mantar. Their aim is to ‘expose’ the central government which ‘failed’ to keep its promise of implementing a 50% hike in research scholarships announced in October last year.

Teachers hold protest outside UGC office:

VHR’s Fast on February 21: Protesting against the central government’s recent ordinance on land acquisition, Congress MP and senior leader V Hanumantha Rao will sit on a hunger strike at Indira Park here on February 21.

Protest by Christian workers in front of the BJP office in Dimapur:

JD-U, TMC, AAP MPs to protest on day 1 of Parliament on 23 Feb, 2015: JDU, Trinamool and AAP MPs will unite to protest the Narendra Modi government during the joint session of Parliament on Monday, when President Pranab Mukherjee will read his speech at the Central Hall of Parliament. The MPs are protesting what they believe is the high-handedness of the Modi government on the Centre’s interventions in Bihar’s internal politics and to prevent Nitish Kumar from being sworn in as the state’s chief minister. The JD-U is also upset with the president’s silence after meeting a delegation of Yadavs with 130 MLAs.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s